It’s ok to Dream!

Posted: April 8, 2014 in Life Coach
Tags: , , ,

1 Dreaming“Dreaming, after all, is a form of planning.” by Gloria Steinem.

It’s ok to Dream!

I have a 6 year old step son, whom is absolutely adorable. He reminds me each and every day the simplicity of life and how to wake up to a brand new day with the attitude of conquering it his way. He told my husband (his father) and me the other day that when he grows up he either wants to be a policeman or a construction worker. My heart just smiled at the excitement in his voice and heart as he said this. He is dreaming big and dreaming of his future. If I have an influence on him, then he will be an entrepreneur and a millionaire when he is in his 20’s. He will not have a J.O.B. (Just Over Bills) and will be doing something he absolutely loves to do! And contributing big to those around him and who is a part of his world.

I also have a 10 year old God son who wants to become an engineer and create cars that fly. I have no doubt in my mind at all he will contribute to some major changes in the world we live in. He wants to make huge changes in this world and wants to do it right now.
We need to encourage and fuel the dreams of our children. They have no fear and nothing holding them back from becoming.

When did we stop Dreaming?

This is the million dollar question. I retired early from an extremely successful career to pursue my dream and life’s purpose. While out pursuing by creating, developing and designing my dream, a friend of mine asked if I was ready to get another J.O.B. so I can have steady income flowing in. At the beginning, the money was tight and not coming in like a steady paycheck was but I had no bills and enough money in savings to last awhile. I stopped to think about this question for a minute, was I living out her dream but she was the one stuck in fear. Did I freak out everyone in my life by retiring from my day to day J.O.B.? I broke out of the norm of having a J.O.B. and doing the same thing everyone else was doing. I am not really sure where my friend’s point of this question was, but I can say that I overcame my own fear and jumped in feet first. Has it been rough, of course? I was and still am treading in new waters but doing quite well figuring it out.

So let me ask you this. As an adult, why did we stop dreaming? We all want a better life for ourselves? When did we stop pursuing this greater life we dreamed of as a child or even now as an adult? Who told us to stop dreaming of this life? What is holding us back?

I don’t remember what I would say when someone asked me as a child what I wanted to be when I grew up. I do know I did not say an adult stuck in the mundane routine of the day in and day out stuff. I did not say I wanted to live in fear of change or doing something greater for myself. I did not say I wanted to live inside my comfort zone so I would not freak out those around me when I wanted to pursue my true life’s purpose. I did not say I wanted to live with the harsh words of my mother continually telling me I am no good and will never become someone of importance or do great things in the world around me.

Are you catching my point here? I may have wanted to be a ballerina, a bank teller, an astronaut, or whatever. Whatever it was is not the point, the point is I dreamed of becoming and was going to do whatever it takes to get there. Somewhere along the way, I stopped dreaming and pursuing.

What does our future truly hold for us?

It does not matter your age right now. Here I am asking what do you truly want to pursue. Who do you truly want to be? It is ok to dream and I encourage you to dream big and pursue it. Why not? We are all going to live anyway so while we are here living our life, let’s live the best life possible. Let us encourage and change those around us to live their best life.
It really is your choice. So is today the day you stand up, face your fears and say I am ready to break free of my fear and pursue living my life my way.

I am here to help!

If you would like to be coached, I can help you. I carve out a few FREE complimentary strategy sessions each week. If you would like a complimentary strategy session (Value = $250), simply contact me HERE.

I help people discover the dream that’s in harmony with their purpose and coach them through the process on how to achieve it.

Comments are closed.